Supervisors Room, Courthouse Pocahontas, Iowa March 31, 2020

The Board of Supervisors of Pocahontas County, Iowa, met in regular session pursuant to adjournment.

Due to the spread of COVID-19, all County buildings are closed to the public, making holding public meetings impossible. Since public meetings are an essential part in keeping the County operating, Pocahontas County will hold all public meetings electronically. The public was able to participate in the Board of Supervisors meeting held on March 31, 2020 by electronic means posted at the top of the Agenda.

Members present: Chairman, Jeffrey Ives; Supervisors, Clarence Siepker, Louis Stauter, and Brent Aden; and Auditor, Kelly Jepsen. Electronically: Reporter, Erin Sommers, and Supervisor Ed Dewey.

Motion by Stauter, seconded by Aden, to approve three sets of minutes from March 24, 2020 and March 27, 2020, as presented. Ayes all, motion carried.

Motion by Siepker, seconded by Stauter, to approve the tentative agenda with striking "Purchase Motor Grader" and replacing it with "Utility Permit". Ayes all, motion carried.

Motion by Stauter, seconded by Aden, to approve Jt. DD 37-35 claim from I & S Group, Inc. for \$2,821.50 for professional services for Annexation and Reclassification for Laterals and Branches. Ayes all, motion carried.

Motion by Aden, seconded by Siepker, to approve Jt. DD 173-67 claim from I & S Group, Inc. for \$2,381.50 for professional services for Reclassification of Branches and Laterals. Ayes all, motion carried.

Motion by Stauter, seconded by Aden, to approve Jt. DD 181 claim from Pocahontas County Secondary Roads for CMP in the amount of \$213.60. Ayes all, motion carried.

Motion by Stauter, seconded by Aden, to change the date of the hearing on DD 30 Br. 3 from Tuesday, April 7, 2020 to April 28, 2020 at 1:00 p.m. in the Assembly Room at the Courthouse. Ayes all, motion carried. Landowners will be invited to participate electronically.

Motion by Aden, seconded by Siepker, to acknowledge receipt of Manure Management Plans: (1) Ken Woodford Finishing #2 – ID# 67029 located in the SE SW, Section 5, Cummins Township with Ken Woodford as owner & contact person; (2) Seehusen Finisher –ID# 61832 located in the SE SW, Section 30, Sherman Township with Maschhoffs Environmental as owner & contact; (3) Kopriva Finisher Farm – ID# 64541 located in the N NE, Section 4, Cummins Township with M Holdings, LLC as owner & Keith Kratchmer as contact person; (4) Plover East Finisher Farm –ID# 64485 located in the NE NW, Section 14, Powhatan Township with N Holding, LLC as owner & Keith Kratchmer as contact person; and (5) Bellcock Turkey Farm – ID# 66193 located in the SE SW, Sec. 17 Douglas Township, Sac County with Josh & Justin Bellcock as owner & Josh Bellcock as contact person. Ayes all, motion carried.

Auditor Jepsen and the Board continued the discussion on moving Public Health to the Annex, which would place all the departments that provide health and financial services to our residents in one location, allowing for better collaboration of services and with the building located closer to the parking, easier access for the public. Ives explained that the County Attorney, Dan Feistner, did not like either plan presented. Feistner would like the County to purchase a building specifically for him, even though the County has other options for him and his staff. Jepsen reviewed the two different plans that have been considered. Stauter stated that the second plan made perfect sense, why waste time and tax payers' money on buying another building that would have to be maintained when you have the space that can be used. Aden and Siepker agreed. The Board discussed the differences between a part-time and full-time County Attorney and commented that they have options. Dewey will talk with the contractor, while Aden and Ives will visit with Home Care Aides department. They all agreed to keep the process moving.

Motion by Aden, seconded by Siepker, to allow the Chairman to sign the Utility Permit with Palmer Mutual Telephone Company. Ayes all, motion carried.

Gary Atherton, Assistant to the Engineer/Drainage Clerk, discussed different drainage concerns with the Board.

The Board discussed the COVID-19 pandemic and Governor Reynolds' mandate to keep the counties functioning. The Board feels that they would have a better opportunity to keep the offices open if they rotate employees. If an employee would become sick, then not all employees would have to self-isolate, allowing the each department to operate. After discussion on how rotating employees would work, motion was made by Stauter, seconded by Siepker, to adopt the Pocahontas County Administrative Leave Policy, to go into effect on March 30, 2020. Ayes all, motion carried. Motion by Stauter, seconded by Siepker, to approve the signature page as part of the Pocahontas County Administrative Policy. Ayes all, motion carried.

Motion by Siepker, seconded by Aden, to authorize VPN service for the Public Health Department and the County Assessor. Ayes all, motion carried.

Weekly meetings: Siepker-Upper Des Moines, CCS, COVID-19 meeting at hospital; Aden-drainage concerns; Ives-COVID-19 concerns, COVID-19 meeting at hospital, meeting with County Attorney about moving offices; Stauter-Secondary Roads interviews, CFR, Yes Center, drainage and washout concerns; and Dewey-EMA issues, visited with City of Pocahontas about the armory, and visited with County Attorney about moving offices. All Supervisors participated in an emergency meeting for COVID-19 and Department Head meeting. There being no further business, the Chairman declared the meeting adjourned.

Jeffrey K. Ives, Chairman

Kelly A. Jepsen, Auditor

Supervisors Room, Courthouse Pocahontas, Iowa March 31, 2020

At 11:15 a.m., the Board of Supervisors of Pocahontas County, Iowa, met with Department Heads to discuss the COVID-19 pandemic.

Due to the spread of COVID-19, all County buildings are closed to the public, making holding public meetings impossible. Since public meetings are an essential part in keeping the County operating, Pocahontas County will hold all public meetings electronically. The public was able to participate by electronic means, posted at the top of the Agenda.

Members present: Chairman, Jeffrey Ives; Supervisors, Clarence Siepker, Louis Stauter, and Brent Aden; and Auditor, Kelly Jepsen. Department Heads present: Diane Ferguson; Dereck Hebert; Sue Reigelsberger; Amy Johnson; and Steve Nelson. Telephonically: Supervisors Ed Dewey; and Department Heads: Orene Cressler, Brian Reis, Carol Williams, and Tom Grau.

Ives explained that the Board adopted an Administrative Leave Policy. The policy allows the Department Head the ability to put an employee on administrative leave. The employee would then have the option to take paid or unpaid leave. The paid leave would require the employee to self-isolate, be on call and when asked, to work from home. If an employee violates the paid administrative leave policy, the pay would be forfeited. Unpaid administrative leave, the employee would not agree to self-isolate, not be on call or work from home. The employee could use their banked sick or vacation time to maintain their pay. There is a signature page the employee would sign stating what type of administrative leave they agree to follow. If an employee becomes sick, or ordered to self-quarantine, then the Families First Coronavirus Response Act would be followed.

Departments gave updates on their office and explained what they have implemented to keep the employees safe and healthy.

Jeffrey K. Ives, Chairman

Kelly A. Jepsen, Auditor