Supervisors Room, Courthouse Pocahontas, Iowa June 20, 2017

The Board of Supervisors of Pocahontas County, Iowa met in regular session pursuant to adjournment.

Members present: Chairman, Jeffrey Ives; Supervisors, Clarence Siepker, Louis Stauter, JoAnn Peters, Ed Dewey; and Auditor Kelly Jepsen.

The minutes of June 13, 2017 were approved as presented on motion by Stauter, seconded by Dewey. Ayes all, motion carried.

It was moved by Dewey, seconded by Siepker, to approve the agenda as presented. Ayes all, motion carried.

Terri Kipfer, from the Rolfe Public Library, requested permission to change the makeup of the library board from four resident members and one non-resident member to three resident members, one non-resident and one at large member. Kipfer explained it is becoming harder to find people to serve on the board so feel this change would give them more options. It was moved by Stauter, seconded by Peters to approve the change to the Rolfe Public Library. Ayes all, motion carried.

It was moved by Peters, seconded by Siepker, to acknowledge receipt of Manure Management Plans: (1) Brian Aden Feedlot – ID# 66770 located in the NW SW, Section 1, Colfax Township with Brian Aden as owner & Andrew Nesseth as contact person; (2) Pocahontas Site – ID# 60391 located in the SW NE, Section 6, Grant Township with John Conlin as owner & contact person; (3) Frank South, Finisher Farm – ID# 58363 located in the NE SE, Section 28, Sherman Township with Iowa Select Farms, LLP as owner & Keith Kratchmer as contact person; (4) Henry, Finisher Farm – ID# 64710 located in the SW SE, Section 5, Powhatan Township with Santa Fe Farms, LLC as owner & Keith Kratchmer as contact person; (5) Tweedie, Finisher Farm – ID# 62990 located in the SW SE, Section 16, Dover Township with N Holdings, LLC as owner & Keith Kratchmer as contact person. Ayes all, motion carried.

Jepsen discussed the precinct election officials pay and the phone service needed during elections. It was moved by Stauter, seconded by Siepker, to approve precinct election officials pay with a change in schools of instruction from a flat rate of \$25 to \$10 per hour and when applicable, a flat rate of \$5 for cell phone usage (1 per precinct). Ayes all, motion carried.

Jepsen let the Board know that Access Systems from Ft. Dodge inquired about doing a network assessment for the County. After much discussion, it was decided to table the conversation until we could get information from other providers as well.

At 10:15 a.m., a teleconference was held with Calhoun County Board of Supervisors. Members present in Calhoun County: Supervisors, Scott Jacobs, Mike Cooper, Carl Legore; and Auditor, Robin Batz. Members present in Pocahontas County: Supervisors, Jeffrey Ives, Clarence Siepker, Louis Stauter, JoAnn Peters and Ed Dewey; Auditor, Kelly Jepsen; and Chris Vrba as member of the press.

It was moved by Stauter, seconded by Cooper, to appoint Scott Jacobs as Chairman and Robin Batz as Secretary. Ayes all, motion carried. It was moved by Legore, seconded by Ives, to approve Jt. DD 173-67 Open Ditch, pay estimate number 1 from Ingraham Construction, Inc. for \$55,816.20. Ayes all, motion carried. It was moved by Cooper, seconded by Stauter to adjourn. Ayes all, motion carried.

It was moved by Stauter, seconded by Legore, to appoint Jeff Ives as Chairman and Kelly Jepsen as Secretary. Ayes all, motion carried. It was moved by Cooper, seconded by Siepker, to approve payment of \$11,673.00 to Bolton & Menk, for construction services on Jt. DD 43-72. Ayes all, motion carried. It was moved by Stauter, seconded by Legore to adjourn. Ayes all, motion carried.

At 10:25 a.m., a teleconference was held with Palo Alto County Board of Supervisors. Members present in Palo Alto County: Supervisors, Keith Wirtz, Ron Graettinger, Roger Faulstick, Craig Merrill, Linus Solberg; and Auditor, Carmen Moser. Members present in Pocahontas County: Supervisors, Jeffrey Ives, Clarence Siepker, Louis Stauter, JoAnn Peters and Ed Dewey; Auditor, Kelly Jepsen; and Chris Vrba as member of the press.

It was moved by Stauter, seconded by Wirtz, to appoint Jeff Ives as Chairman and Kelly Jepsen as Secretary. Ayes all, motion carried. It was moved by Dewey, seconded by Graettinger, to recognize the petition on Jt. DD 63 Main Tile. Ayes all, motion carried. It was moved by Stauter, seconded by Merrill, to appoint Bolton & Menk as the engineer for this project. Ayes all, motion carried. It was moved by Dewey, seconded by Wirtz to adjourn. Ayes all, motion carried.

It was moved by Stauter, seconded by Dewey, to approve Jt. DD 18-42 claim from Bolton & Menk for jurisdictional wetland administration, \$14,722.00. Ayes all, motion carried.

It was moved by Stauter, seconded by Siepker, to approve a claim from Buena Vista County Engineer for general repairs on Jt. DD 144, \$780.47. Ayes all, motion carried.

Jack Moellering, County Engineer, presented the Board with a utility permit request. After discussion, it was moved by Dewy, seconded by Siepker, to approve Black Hills Energy utility permit. Ayes all, motion carried.

Moellering explained the DOT was doing the N65 letting today and wondered if the Board could meet when the results were posted to approve the winning bid. The Board would try to accommodate if possible.

It being 11:00 a.m. the Board proceeded with the bid letting for pavement patching. There were four bids with the lowest bid being from Ten Point Construction Company Inc. from Denison at \$240,700.00. It was moved by Dewey, seconded by Peters, to appoint Ten Point to do the pavement patching with the contingent the numbers on the bid letting are correct. Ayes all, motion carried.

At 11: 15 a.m. the Board canvassed the Rolfe City Special Election with the following being elected to fill vacancies: Mayor: Julia Agle Lancaster (88 votes); City Council Member: Albert Sroufe (91 votes). It was moved by Siepker, seconded by Dewey, to approve the results of the Special Election. Ayes all, motion carried.

The Board discussed if the \$2,000 salary increase for Cressler was a permissive use of the VA grant dollars according to Iowa Code 35A.16(3)c. Stauter had contacted the Veterans Affairs Department in Des Moines and was told it could not be used for a bonus. Jodi Tymeson from the Veterans Affairs Department in Des Moines had contact Jepsen requesting information surrounding the \$2,000 salary increase. Since Cressler's time spent with veterans had increased from 60% to 70% per week and the County budget reflected that change, then it qualified as a permissive use of the grant dollars. It was moved by Siepker, seconded by Dewey, to allow the Chairman to sign the amended agreement between the County and the VA Commissioners regarding \$2,000 for additional hours to Veterans Affairs Director, Orene Cressler. Ayes-Dewey, Siepker, Ives, Peters; Nays-Stauter, motion carried.

Weekly meetings: Ives-drainage concerns; Dewey-Conservation Board and Siepker-Upper Des Moines. All Board members were present at DD 11 Completion Hearing and continued Classification Hearing.

There being no further business the Chairman declared the meeting adjourned.	
Jeffrey Ives, Chairman	Kelly Jepsen, Auditor